Diederik Sybolt Wiersma

Born the 25th of December 1967 in Utrecht, The Netherlands, received his masters degree Cum Laude and his PhD degree at the Univ. of Amsterdam in 1991 and 1995 respectively. He is full professor at the department of physics of the University of Florence and in charge of the micro and nano photonics research area at the European Laboratory for Non-linear Spectroscopy (LENS). He has run several national and international projects on photonic crystals and random lasers, was deputy coordinator of the European network of excellence on nanophotonics *Phoremost* comprising 34 European Laboratories, director of LENS, and is co-founder of the *Nanophotonics Europe Association*. He currently runs an industrial project on solar energy financed by ENI Italy, is member of the board of directors of the European Network of Excellence on *Nano photonics for energy efficiency*, leads a project to construct a new research line on nano photonics and fluidics financed by the Italian Institute for Technology and has recently obtained the prestigious Advanced Research Grant of the European Research Council (ERC-advanced grant) on micro robotics and photonics.

His research interests lie in the fundamental optical properties of micro and nano photonic materials, in particular with periodic, random, or quasi-crystalline structure. He has delivered about 100 invited lectures and colloquia and authored many papers on this topic, amongst which 20 in Nature and Science and 22 in the Physical Review Letters (average number of citations of all papers: 42, h-index: 36, total of 12 cover stories). He has been course director of 4 physics courses at center Ettore Majorana (Erice, Italy, 2005-2010), director of the OSA topical meeting on nano and meta materials META (Jacksonhole, USA, 2007), and director of 3 courses of the International School of Physics 'Enrico Fermi' (Varenna, Italy, 2009, 2013, and 2015). He received the Ugo Campisano award from the National Institute for the Physics of Matter for his work on random lasing in 2004, the National Academy of Sciences Award ("premio Tartufari") for physics in 2014, and the "Enrico Fermi Prize" for physics from the Italian Physical Society in 2015. Currently he is a member of the editorial board of The European Physical Journal, The Physical Review A, and Euro Physics Letters.